Iowa's Capitol

Take a trip back in time to learn about the history of Iowa's Capitols.

1836-07-03 00:00:00

Wisconsin Territory Organized

July 3, 1836

1836-10-25 00:00:00

Belmont Capitol

First Capitol of Wisconsin Territory, in Belmont, Wisconsin.

1837-12-12 00:00:00

Smith Capitol

Second Capitol of Wisconsin Territory, in Burlington, Iowa.

1838-07-01 00:00:00

Theodore Parvin

First Librarian of the Iowa Territory.

1838-07-04 00:00:00

Iowa Territory Organized

July 4, 1838

1838-08-15 00:00:00

Robert Lucas

1st Territorial Governor, 1838-1841

1838-11-12 04:32:08

Old Zion Church Capitol

First Capitol of Iowa Territory, Burlington, Iowa

1840-07-04 00:00:00

Old Stone Capitol Cornerstone

Iowa City

1841-05-13 00:00:00

John Chambers

2nd Territorial Governor, 1841-1845

1841-12-06 00:00:00

Butler Capitol

Second (Temporary) Capitol of the Iowa Territory, in Iowa City

Iowa's Capitol

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d Game mode