50th Anniversary

Marking a Milestone

Access, opportunity, and community define Seattle U Law’s five decades of history in Tacoma and Seattle.

1971-12-01 00:00:00

December 1971

The University of Puget Sound (UPS) Board of Trustees votes to establish the first new law school in the Northwest since the early 20th century.

1972-01-01 00:00:00

January 1972

Joseph A. Sinclitico, Jr., a Harvard Law School graduate, becomes founding dean of the University of Puget Sound School of Law.

1972-02-29 08:09:51

February - April 1972

James E. Beaver becomes the first official faculty member of the fledgling law school.

1972-06-01 20:39:03

June 1972

Construction of interim law school facilities in Benaroya Business Park on South Tacoma Way is completed.

1972-09-01 20:39:03

September 1972

The law school officially opens its doors to the inaugural class of 427 first-year students, who each pay $1,900 in tuition.

1972-10-01 20:39:03

October 1972

Founding ceremony

1973-01-01 20:39:03


The law school receives provisional accreditation from the American Bar Association (ABA), Early Entry Program established.

1973-08-01 20:39:03

August 1974

18 students who had undertaken an accelerated program formed the first group of graduates from the law school in August, followed by additional group of 43 early grads.

1973-09-01 20:39:03

September 1974

For the first time, the law school begins the year with a full complement of classes 1L, 2L, and 3L comprising 730 students, with 17 full-time faculty and five law librarians.

1975-01-01 20:39:03

January 1975

The UPS Student Bar Association is established.

50th Anniversary

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d Game mode