ACC History

History of the Associated Catholic Colleges

Sporting competitions between Catholic Secondary Colleges commenced soon after the establishment of the Christian Brothers' Colleges in East Melbourne and St Kilda in the 1870s.;xNLx;;xNLx;Since then, the Associated Catholic Colleges has grown to encompass a broad range of sporting, cultural and leadership activities.;xNLx;;xNLx;Track our history through the timeline and explore our evolution.

1902-11-07 00:00:00

First Victorian Schools Athletics Championship

CBC St Kilda (now St Mary's College) was one of eighteen schools to participate in the first Combined Secondary Schools' Athletics Championship conducted by the Victorian Amateur Athletic Association at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

1911-10-22 14:57:35

Foundation Members - Catholic Secondary Schools Association

Christian Brothers' Colleges at Ballarat (St Patrick's), East Melbourne (Parade), North Melbourne (St Joseph's), South Melbourne (St Joseph's) and St Kilda, and Assumption College Kilmore.

1911-11-03 00:00:00

First Catholic Secondary Schools’ Athletics Championship

was held at the East Melbourne Cricket Ground.

1920-01-01 17:44:47

De La Salle College, Malvern

joined the Association.

1928-06-01 00:00:00

Cricket competition introduced

De La Salle College won the first Seniors 1st XI.

1932-02-04 05:16:18

Australian Rules Football competition introduced

1932-03-02 00:00:00

First Catholic Secondary Schools’ Swimming Carnival

was held at the Kew City Baths.

1932-06-01 00:00:00

Handball competitions introduced

CBC Parade won the first senior handball competition.

1934-01-05 23:13:14

Walsh Swimming shield

Mr P.S. Walsh donated the new swimming champion shield, in his honour, for the winning college.

1934-06-01 00:00:00

Tennis competition introduced

De La Salle College won the first senior competition.

ACC History

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d Game mode