EPP Congress

The Congress is the highest decision-making body of the Party. It is composed of delegates from EPP member and associated member parties, member associations and groups. The EPP Congress meets ordinarily once every three years. It elects the EPP Presidency and decides on the main policy documents and electoral programmes, and provides a platform for the EPP heads of government and party leaders. The EPP has organized a total of 24 Congresses.

1978-03-06 00:00:00

1978 Congress I

held in Brussels adopted the EPP’s political program.

1979-02-22 00:00:00

1979 Congress II

also in Brussels, decided the electoral platform for the first direct elections to the European Parliament.

1980-09-01 00:00:00

1980 Congress III

in Cologne discussed the overall theme “The Christian Democrats in the Eighties – securing Freedom and Peace Completing Europe”.

1982-12-06 22:23:11

1982 Congress IV

took place in Paris under the slogan “Preserve Peace – Create Peace – Unite Europe”.

1984-04-24 00:00:00

1984 Congress V

in Rome formulated the EPP Action Program.

1986-04-10 00:00:00

1986 Congress VI

in The Hague focused on Economic Development and Environmental Problems.

1988-11-07 00:00:00

1988 Congress VII

in Luxembourg prepared for another European Election and approved the document “On the Side of the Citizens”.

1990-11-15 00:00:00

1990 Congress VIII

in Dublin faced a new political landscape and published “A federal constitution for the European Union”.

1992-11-11 00:00:00

1992 Congress IX

in Athens discussed, drafted, and approved the EPP “Basic Programme”.

1993-12-08 00:00:00

1993 Congress X

was held in Brussels and adopted the action program, “Europe 2000: Unity in Diversity”.

EPP Congress

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d