Iowa's Capitol

Take a trip back in time to learn about the history of Iowa's Capitols.

1836-07-03 00:00:00

Wisconsin Territory Organized

July 3, 1836

1836-10-25 00:00:00

Belmont Capitol

First Capitol of Wisconsin Territory, in Belmont, Wisconsin.

1837-12-12 00:00:00

Smith Capitol

Second Capitol of Wisconsin Territory, in Burlington, Iowa.

1838-07-01 00:00:00

Theodore Parvin

First Librarian of the Iowa Territory.

1838-07-04 00:00:00

Iowa Territory Organized

July 4, 1838

1838-08-15 00:00:00

Robert Lucas

1st Territorial Governor, 1838-1841

1838-11-12 04:32:08

Old Zion Church Capitol

First Capitol of Iowa Territory, Burlington, Iowa

1840-07-04 00:00:00

Old Stone Capitol Cornerstone

Iowa City

1841-05-13 00:00:00

John Chambers

2nd Territorial Governor, 1841-1845

1841-12-06 00:00:00

Butler Capitol

Second (Temporary) Capitol of the Iowa Territory, in Iowa City

1842-12-05 00:00:00

Old Stone Capitol, Iowa City

1845-11-18 00:00:00

James Clarke

3rd Territorial Governor, 1845-1846

1846-12-03 00:00:00

Ansel Briggs

1st State Governor, 1846-1850

1846-12-28 00:00:00

Iowa Statehood

December 28, 1846

1850-12-04 00:00:00

Stephen P. Hempstead

2nd State Governor, 1850-1854

1854-09-12 00:00:00

James Wilson Grimes

3rd State Governor, 1854-1858

1858-01-01 06:56:14

Old Brick Capitol

Iowa's second Capitol, and the first in Des Moines.

1858-01-14 00:00:00

Ralph P. Lowe

4th State Governor, 1858-1860

1860-01-11 00:00:00

Samuel J. Kirkwood

5th State Governor, 1860-1864

1864-01-14 00:00:00

William M. Stone

6th State Governor, 1864-1868

1868-01-16 00:00:00

Samuel Merrill

7th State Governor, 1868-1872

1871-11-01 00:00:00

Robert Finkbine (1828-1901)

Superintendent of Construction

1871-11-23 00:00:00

Construction Begins on Present Capitol

1872-01-11 00:00:00

Cyrus C. Carpenter

8th State Governor, 1872-1876

1873-09-29 00:00:00

Construction Begins anew on Present Capitol

1876-01-13 00:00:00

Samuel J. Kirkwood

9th State Governor, 1876-1877

1877-02-01 00:00:00

Joshua F. Newbold

10th State Governor, 1877-1878

1878-01-17 00:00:00

John H. Gear

11th State Governor, 1878-1882

1882-01-12 00:00:00

Buren R. Sherman

12th Governor, 1882-1886

1882-05-31 23:37:06

1st Dome Gilding

1882-07-28 23:02:06

Encaustic Tile

Origninal tile flooring in the Iowa State Capitol (c. 1883-1886)

1882-11-02 06:56:14

William Metzger

Woodcarver, Supreme Court Bench

1884-01-17 00:00:00

Legislature moves to current Capitol

1885-01-01 05:30:27

Governor moves to current Capitol

1886-01-14 00:00:00

William Larrabee

13th State Governor, 1886-1890

1886-06-01 00:00:00

Supreme Court moves to current Capitol

1890-02-27 00:00:00

Horace Boies

14th State Governor, 1890-1894

1890-07-01 18:13:11

The Weidenmann Project

1894-01-11 00:00:00

Frank D. Jackson

15th State Governor, 1894-1896

1896-01-16 00:00:00

Francis M. Drake

16th State Governor, 1896-1898

1898-01-13 00:00:00

Leslie M. Shaw

17th State Governor, 1898-1902

1902-01-16 00:00:00

Albert B. Cummins

18th State Governor, 1902-1908

1902-07-01 00:00:00

Capitol Construction; the finishing touches

The Twenty-ninth General Assembly passed an Act in 1902 creating a Commission to superintend the completion and repairs to the Capitol. The Commissioners, A.B. Funk, E.P. Schoentgen, and Charles Atherton Cumming were appointed to a four year term. The commissioners held their first meeting July 1, 1902.

1904-01-04 10:29:51

Fire of 1904

On January 4, 1904, the Iowa State Capitol caught fire from a workman’s candle left burning in the north wing behind the chamber of the House of Representatives. Gaslights were being replaced by electric lights, requiring workmen to run wires through the walls of the Capitol while illuminating their workspace with lanterns or candles. The ceiling in the House Chamber collapsed during the fire and had to be rebuilt. The rooms below the House Chamber were damaged by water. The cost of the fire damage totaled about $108,000.

1904-01-05 21:41:39

Supreme Court ceiling artwork

Old Supreme Court Ceiling Paintings (1886-1904)

1905-01-01 00:00:00

Second Gilding of Dome


1905-01-01 16:57:06


Mural above grand staircase.

1905-07-01 15:30:05

Kenyon Cox

Painter of lunettes

1908-07-28 23:02:06

Frederick Dielman

Artist, Mosaics

1908-07-28 23:02:06


Above the Grand Staircase.

Iowa's Capitol

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d

Contact us

We'd love to hear from you. Please send questions or feedback to the below email addresses.

Before contacting us, you may wish to visit our FAQs page which has lots of useful info on Tiki-Toki.

We can be contacted by email at:

You can also follow us on twitter at

If you are having any problems with Tiki-Toki, please contact us as at:


Edit this timeline

Enter your name and the secret word given to you by the timeline's owner.

3-40 true Name must be at least three characters
3-40 true You need a secret word to edit this timeline

Checking details

Please check details and try again