ESA Living Past Presidents

The Governing Board of ESA established the Past Presidents 2015 Committee in 2011, with Jean Langenheim as Chair, to assist in preparations for the Centennial.

One of their major projects was this timeline. It covers the terms of living past presidents from 1968 to 2014, but includes photos of the deceased presidents within this time frame. Each living president was asked to provide a photo of their choice and to encapsulate in a brief statement what they consider to be the most significant accomplishment or event during their tenure in office. In a separate document the presidents were asked to reflect on other important events, positive and/or negative, during their presidency. The form of their responses varied but are available here as “their stories.” These reflections from living past presidents contribute a special perspective for understanding actions of leaders of the Society and changes in viewpoints over the years. (Click "Find out more" to access these reflections.);xNLx;;xNLx;This timeline has been prepared with assistance from Sally White, Chair of the Website Subcommittee for the Historical Records Committee.;xNLx;

1967-08-01 00:00:00

Early ESA Presidents

Presidents before 1968 are reviewed in a separate timeline.

1968-08-01 00:00:00

John Edward Cantlon

Ecology bridges humanity to sustainable environment

1969-08-01 00:00:00

Edward Smith Deevey Jr.

December 3, 1914 - November 29, 1988

1970-08-01 00:00:00

Frederick Herbert Bormann

Involving ESA in environmental policy and education

1971-08-01 00:00:00

Stanley Irving Auerbach

May 21, 1921 - May 1, 2004

1972-08-01 00:00:00

Robert Baxter Platt

January 19, 1913 - March 11, 1998

1973-08-01 19:34:05

Frederick Edward Smith

July 23, 1920 - April 14, 2012

1974-08-01 19:34:05

Richard Samuel Miller

July 24, 1922 - October 12, 1990

1975-08-01 11:51:27

Forest Walden Stearns

September 10, 1918 - September 8, 1999

1976-08-01 19:34:05

Frank Benjamin Golley

September 24, 1930 -October 8, 2006

ESA Living Past Presidents

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d Game mode