ACRL Presidents

A timeline of previous ACRL presidents.

William H. Carlson

William H. Carlson (1898–1990) was the 10th president of ACRL, serving from 1947-1948. He was the director of the Libraries for the Oregon State System of Higher Education at Corvallis during the same time and served in that position for a period of twenty years. Before his appointment as the head librarian for Oregon State University in 1945, Carlson worked in several college and university libraries, including: the University of Iowa, University of North Dakota, Vanderbilt University, the University of Arizona, and the University of Washington.

H. William Axford

H. William Axford (1925-1980) was the 37th president of ACRL, serving from 1974-1975. During that time he was also the University Librarian at the University of Oregon in Eugene, Oregon. During his term, the Board voted to copyright issues of College & Research Libraries and College & Research Libraries News; approved a policy that the master’s degree in library science from an ALA accredited institution was the terminal degree for the library professions; and adopted new Standards for College Libraries, replacing the 1959 Standards.

Susan K. Martin

Susan K. Martin is the University Librarian Emerita of Georgetown University and served as ACRL President from 1994-1995.

Errett Weir McDiarmid

Errett Weir McDiarmid (1909-2000) was the 9th president of ACRL, serving from 1946-1947. During that time he was also University Librarian and Director of the Division of Library Instruction at the University of Minnesota. Under his leadership, ACRL finally was able to garner financial support from ALA for an executive secretary of ACRL, which was important for the continuing growth of the professional organization. McDiarmid held other leadership positions within ALA, including serving as president from 1948-49. His most notable publications include The Library Survey: Problems and Methods (1940) and The Administration of the American Public Library (1943), both published by the American Library Association.

Evan I. Farber

Evan I. Farber served as ACRL President from 1978-1979.

Norman E. Tanis

Norman E. Tanis served as the 36th president of ACRL from 1973-1974.

Robert W. Severance

Robert W. Severance (1908-2005) was the 15th president of ACRL, serving from 1952-1953. While serving as president of ACRL, he was also a librarian at Baylor University.

Guy R. Lyle

Guy R. Lyle served as the 17th president of ACRL from 1954-1955.

William A. Moffett

William A. Moffett served as ACRL President from 1989-1990.

W. Lee Hisle

W. Lee Hisle served as ACRL President from 1997-1998.

Copy this timeline Login to copy this timeline 3d